Let Your Life Speak A gift to me.

I came in the apartment to a pile of mail. And was as normal just knowing that it was allhealth information and bills. I came across a box. A box from Amazon. I was so surprised and shocked to discover that the box was a gift to me from Deanna Dennis of Turner Broadcasting. A facebook family member and friend of mine. No ordinary friend either. A very highly respected mentor of mine. It is okay to stay home on a Friday and Saturday night and do absolutely nothing. Perhaps bake some cookies or read.It is okay to stay home and bake. It is highly thought of to attend church and have a daily devotionaltime. It is okay to be alone. It is okay to blog and share with the world your feelings. It is better and nice to have empathy and humanity for the homeless and those less fortunate. It is okay to go in search of yourself. Everyday if you have to.  Deanna gives me courage, strength and empowerment everyday of my life just by being herself and living a life of womanly godliness that is a super example to follow. So many days she provides support and insight into the beauty in everyday living. A mentor unlike any other and a shining example of what a true woman is and one that I strive to be more like. Deanna has taught me to Rethink things in a positive manner before acting. Doing the right thing knowing what is best for me even if I don’t like it. She has taught me to trust the process and to just keep moving forward and that the only way out is through. She keeps me healthy by reminding me to praise myself. Noticing what I did right as this is the most powerful method of growth. Through her blogs I have learned of self nurturing and how important it is and to do something that I enjoy. She has taught me to let go of self destructive relationships that cannot be fixed and to detach. She has shown me that making commitments and promising to do what is right is imperative in recovery. She has taught me not to drink to drown my sorrows. That I am so much more than this and that alcoholism can be beat and that you are still a valuable asset to life and love. Knowing as I have watched Deanna I can often times expect growth to feel uncomfortable and that if it feels awkward or difficult I am doing it right! Deanna runs in Marathons as a way of life and shines at it. I have taken her marathon running and compared it to self – nurture and self – hep in my life and have always been able to compare it to each other in some very wonderful and fulfilling ways. She has taught me to figure out what my problem is. To figure out who I am. To decide what I can and can’t control. To accept responsibility. To make anxiety my ally. To recognize that mistakes are opportunities. To compete to improve myself. To be ambitious. To be brave and take risks. To think and speak positively. On learning something new. To spend time investing in my personal growth. To smile and be courteous. She runs marathons and blogs and helps the homeless every chance she gets. Please check out her blog :http://alongrun.wordpress.com/2014/03/04/something-is-missing/I plan to read my book Let Your Life Speak by Parker J. Palmer from cover to cover and to blog of my discovery. I plan to pray about an issue haunting my life. If I should continue to blog of mine and my daughter’s life or should I give it up and leave all these emotions and feelings aside and only journal of them at home. The title itself says to Let Your Life Speak. Let Your Life SpeakIs the life I am living the same as the life that wants to live in me? With this searching question, Parker Palmer begins an insightful and moving meditation on finding one’s true calling. Let Your Life Speak is an openhearted gift to anyone who seeks to live authentically. The book’s title is a time honored Quaker admonition usually taken to mean “Let the highest truths and values guide everything you do.” But Palmer reinterprets those words, drawing on his own search for selfhood. Before you tell your life what you intend to do with it, He writes, listen for what it intends to do with you. Before you tell your life what truths and values you have decided to live up to, let your life tell you what truths you embody, what values you represent. Vocation does not come from willfulness, no matter how noble one’s intentions. It comes from listening to and accepting “true self” with its limits as well as its potentials. Sharing stories of frailty and strength, of darkness and light, Palmer shows that vocation is not a goal to be achieved but a gift to be received. As we live more deeply into the selfhood that is our birthright gift, we find not only personal  fulfillment. We find communion with others and ways of serving the world’s deepest needs. Parker J. PalmerSo as I plan to read Let Your Life Speak cover to cover and word for word. I plan to make it a journaling tool in my life. Using my reading and knowledge taken from the book to share it with the world and those who so choose to continue to read my blogs and follow my life. Now that March is truly a new beginning with having my book in hand. I can now begin this new chapter thanks to Deanna. Hoping to embrace my wholeness just as Deanna does everyday and that light shines bright for all to see. letyourlifespeak

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

