Free from bondage, sin, worry, anxiety, fear, anger, hate, bitterness and wickedness.

In the Study of “The Mind of Christ.” T.W. Hunt and Claude W. King Life Way Press

I have had this workbook for some time now and pull it out from time to time but am making a commitment to more diligently be devoted to studying The Mind of Christ so that I may be more Christ like in my daily walk.

While in group therapy I have learned that he came to set the Free. Free from bondage, sin, worry, anxiety, fear, anger, hate, bitterness and wickedness. A people without understanding will come to ruin.

A few scriptures study in group therapy included

Hosea 4:6

My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge because thou hast rejected knowledge, I will also reject thee, that thou shalt be no priest tome. seeing thou has forgotten the law of the God, I will also forget thy children.

Luke 4 17 – 19

And there was delivered unto him the book of the prophet Esaias. And when he had opened the book, he found the place where it was written, The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he hath anointed me to preach the gospel to the poor, he hath sent me to heal the brokenhearted, to preach deliverance to the captives and recovering of sight to the blind, to set at liberty them that are bruised, to preach the acceptable year of the Lord

John 8 31- 32 34-35

Then Jesus said to those Jews who believed him, If you abide in my word, you are my disciples indeed. And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.

Jesus answered them most assuredly, I say to you whoever commits sin is a slave of sin. And a slave does not abide in the house forever, but a son abides forever. Therefore if the Son makes you free, you shall be free indeed.

John 16 :13

However, when he, the Spirit of truth has come, He will guide you into all truth for he will not speak on His own authority, but whatever He hears He will speak and He will tell you things to come.

John 17 : 17 Sanctify them by the truth, your word is truth.

Hebrews 4 :12

For the word of God is quick and powerful, and sharper than any two edged sword piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.

John 10 :10

The thief cometh not, but for the steal, and to kill, and to destroy. I am come that they might have life, and they might have it more abundantly.

Spirituality and scripture have been a very large part of my recovery as I have always studied the word of God during my recovery over the last ten years and prayed fervently that he would guide me, give me answers to the point and Will of my life and show me his plan not my ideas. His divine plan for my life. He has delivered time and time again to help satisfy me yearnings in life and I owe it to the Lord and the many great mentors that have crossed my life’s path.

As I sit with the workbook “The Mind of Christ.” I am taken back to a time in my life where I had no books, no paper, no pens, no contact with the world. I would have given anything to have had a workbook on The Lord our God and I finally did get a workbook on the Lord of God and it helped me immensely as I studied it day in and day out using it as my tool of recovery and hope for a better tomorrow. Studying the Lord’s Word at every chance I got and praying that the Lord would pull me through to see a greater and grander tomorrow and he did so. In my depths of despair and out of my cries for help he has delivered. And I put all faith and hope in him.

There are 12 Units in “The Mind of Christ” being :

1. Becoming Like Christ

Characteristics of a Christlike Mind

Developing the Mind of Christ

Fix your Thoughts on Jesus

2. Experiencing Freedom in Christ

A Disordered Mind

Making a List of Your Dreams

Christ Sets You Free

The Ordered Mind of Christ

One Great Passion

3. Free Indeed

God’s Goal, Your Freedom

Habits, Loyalties, Relationships, and Prejudices

Ambitions, Duties, Debts and Possessions

Fears and Weaknesses

Hurts or Grudges

4. Virtues of Godly Wisdom

Cleansing Your Mind with God’s Word

Pure

Peaceable

Gently, Entreatable, and Merciful

Fruitful, Steadfast and Honest.

5. Fruit of The Spirit

Love

Joy and Peace

Longsuffering and Gentleness

Goodness and Faith

Meekness and Temperance

6. The Servant Mind

Two Reasons for Servanthood

Serving God and Others

Characteristics of a Servant Mind

7. The Beatitudes

Two Halves of a Whole

Poor in Spirit, Mourn, Meek

Hungry, Merciful, Pure in Heart

Peacemakers, Persecuted for Righteousness

8. Jesus and Emotions

Jesus Identification with Humanity

Jesus Negative Emotions

Jesus Positive Emotions

Controlling Emotional Impulses

9. Jesus Relations with things and people

Jesus and Materialism

Trusting God’s Provision

Jesus sense of timing

Jesus Friendship

Jesus Speech

10. Living in the Spirit

The Spiritual Controls the Material

Christs’s Sentiments of Purpose

Christ and the Father

Christ and the Holy Spirit

Christ, The Scriptures and Prayer

11. Holiness and Love

Reconciling Holiness and Love

The Character and Behavior of Holiness

Love is a Verb

Love as a Noun

12. Exalting Christ

Prophet, Priest and King

Names of Christ

Victory in Christ

Pressing Toward the Mark

Lifelong Helps for Developing the Mind of Christ

Bondage to Freedom Lists

Christlike Virtues

Servanthood Instrument

Your relationship with your Heavenly Father and the Holy Spirit

Names, Titles and Descriptions of Jesus Christ

Readings on the Life, Teaching, and Parables of Christ

Christian Growth Study Plan

“The Mind of Christ Cards.”

This workbook comes with small notecards included that are called the Mind of Christ Cards. They are for studying scripture and positive affirmations.

Maybe each Sunday I can work on blogging from the notecards on The Mind of Christ.

Eight virtues of Godly Wisdom

The wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, and easy to be intreated, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality, and without hypocrisy.

Pure, Peaceable, Gentle, Entreeatable, Merciful, Fruitful, Steadfast and Honest.

“The Mind of Christ.”

I attended Eastridge Baptist for a while and came upon a special Bible that I still turn to.

The Serendipity Bible given to me by Mr. Gary of Eastridge  Community Church in Covington, Georgia

“Serendipity” is what happens when two or three get together and share their lives and the Holy Spirit does something beautiful when you least expect it.

The Bible consists of 60 Felt – Need Courses that I love to study

Men, Women, Singles, Marriage, Parenting, Youth, Marketplace, Spirituality, Special Needs and Recovery.

I recently had the opportunity to read To Heaven and Back by Mary C Neal M.D. it was given to me from a friend who was also in therapy and recovery. It is based on a true story of a Doctor’s Extraordinary Account of her Death, Heaven , Angels and Life Again.

Struggling and thriving through life praying that God’s Will be done and shown in my life. And his purpose in his perfect timing.

Life at times can be so hard. The World so hard, cold and full of hate and anger that I turn to God when in times of uncertainty praying for his comfort and plan in my life and to surround me with beauty and meaningful moments.

My entire life has been surrounded by the Lord beginning with childhood and into my teen years as I worked as a Day Camp Counselor at Ridgecrest Baptist Conference Center, Life Way, Ridgecrest North Carolina for an entire summer teaching to young children.

My entire ten year recovery period has been spiritually based and has included the study of the Word.

And the Word became Flesh. Whitney Posey Capps

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

