MLK fought for causes beyond civil rights.

I have always felt that Dr. Martin Luther King went way beyond race issues. He fought for causes beyond civil rights.

Curriculum Reform

Advancing Economic Opportunity

Anti-War Sentiment

Working Across Religions

Human Dignity And Integrity

Gay Marriage Rights

Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., 1.) Stand up for what you believe in!
“There comes a time when silence is betrayal.

2.) Consider others before yourself.
“Life’s most persistent and urgent question is, ‘What are you doing for others?’”

3.) Give your best effort in everything you do. You owe it to yourself and the world!
“If a man is called to be a street sweeper, he should sweep streets even as a Michaelangelo painted, or Beethoven composed music or Shakespeare wrote poetry. He should sweep streets so well that all the hosts of heaven and earth will pause to say, ‘Here lived a great street sweeper who did his job well.’”

4.) Love is the most powerful force.
“Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.”

Today I began reading the following:

I cannot believe how awesome these books are. Picked them up from the church library at Eastridge Community Church Sunday to help me with my women’s prison ministry and for encouragement. WOW all so good. I want to read them all at once. Reading Wisdom meets Passion. A solid comprehensive plan for attacking your life and career goals. When generations Collide and Collaborate.
Dan Miller/ Jared Angaza
My Heart’s Desire The Secret to joyful and victorious living. Living every moment in the Wonder of Worship.
The Thin Line
A review of Leadership thought and practice.

As I reflected upon the quotes of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., I read today knowing he went way beyond race in helping the world. A world full of pride and hatred even to this very day.

I will not ever be shunned or shamed into silence again. I lived that life for over ten years where I was expected to keep my mouth shut about the domestic violence I always encountered. I still to this day do not think that Mr. Sasser realizes truly all the many ways he abused me and unfortunately I cannot share them all online. It would be inappropriate at this time but I do plan for it to be in my new updated booklet coming up by Spring. Thursday nights through the weekend were particularly awful and he knows exactly what he did every Thursday night of his life just as his friends do too. That I had to deal and cope with while trying to raise a family.

I have been thinking of a blog regarding Schneider, Read & LaMalva and plan to work on it in the very near future. Possibly tonight. But my advocacy for children goes back beyond twenty years and I have the filing cabinet to prove so and plan to do so.

mlk6

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

