Love God. Worship and Abide. Starting Point Eastridge Community Church. March is Reach The World month.

Love God. Worship and Abide. Starting Point Eastridge Community Church. March is Reach The World month.

Am I Attending & Sacrificing? Am I Seeking & Following?

I have had this insatiable desire to write over the last few months. Last night after posting about Starting Point at Eastridge Community Church and March being Reach the World Month I went home and prayed and felt as though a large part of my desire had been quenched and satisfied. This week I will be blogging of the importance of Reaching the World and hopefully through my WordPress blog where many countries visit my blog and my Covington News blog in my community I will be able to reach the 70 percent of the world’s population that is still lost and the 41 percent who have never heard of the Gospel. I hope to honestly Reach this World this March during “Reach the World Month. ” I hope you join me and do the same.

eastridgefamily.org

Worship – Warren Weirsbe is quoted as saying, ” Worship is the believer’s response with all they are – mind, emotions, will, body – to what God is and says and does.” This definition sounds very similar to the Great Commandment. Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.

For our purposes we begin with a focus on the community worship that takes place at our weekly services.

Am I attending?

And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds, not giving up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but encouraging one another- and all the more as you see the Day approaching. Hebrews 10 : 24-25

It is critical to any believer’s growth to be in consistent fellowship with other believers. The entire strategy rests on two presumptions :

1. Each ministry partner has a relationship with Christ.

2. We are all devoted to being the Church that Jesus believed could change the World.

My prayer is not for them alone. I pray also for those who will believe in me through their message, that all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you. May they also be in us so that the world may believe that you have sent me. I have given them the glory that you gave me, that they may be one as we are one. I in them and you in me so that they may be brought to complete unity. Then the world will know that you sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me.

John 17 20-23

Let your consistent attendance at Worship service be a non – negotiable. Together we are stronger and our impact is greater. A great way to show your love for God is to honor this time of worship with the Church, by being faithfully present.

Am I Sacrificing?

This is a very important question. This guage helps me determine if my actions match my words. I can sing about amazing grace, but am I willing to sacrifice to see God’s grace and His kingdom grow? We must evaluate whether our faith compels us to invest in His work. A growing faith should produce a generous spirit and a desire to build up the Church. There are may ways to sacrifice your time, talents and treasure for the Kingdom. A healthy involvement in the weekly worship services might acutally mean missing the service occasionally to help with a two year old class or joing a team that greets people at the door or using a musical talent with the creative arts team. You sacrifice time by attending. You can sacrifice your talents by being available to pitch in and serve to bring glory to God. You sacrifice your treasure by setting aside a percentage of your income to give to God as an act of worship and faith.

Now about the collection for the Lord’s people : Do what I told you Galatian churches to do. On the first day of every week, each one of you should set aside a sum of money in keeping with your income, saving it up, so that when I come no collections will have to be made.

1 Corinthians 16 1-2

The heartbeat of this question is investment. We always invest in the thing that is most important to us. Let’s be sure that God is most important and that our greatest investment in life is in His Kingdom, the Church.

But before we can truly Worship in a group setting on Sunday we must first ABIDE with Christ during the week.

Coming up tomorrow TO ABIDE. To remain in a constant state of connection to Jesus.

Oxford Baptist Church Youth Group with Executive Pastor Mr. Trey Bailey.

oxfordbaptistyouthgroup

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

